Select Page

Crime Stoppers of Houston Recognizes Distinguished Community Members at Annual Awards Luncheon

Crime Stoppers of Houston Recognizes Distinguished Community Members at Annual Awards Luncheon

Over $135,000 raised to fund critical crime prevention and public safety initiatives.

Crime Stoppers of Houston honored and celebrated four incredible individuals, along with two corporate partners at their annual Houston’s Heroes Awards Luncheon which took place on Wednesday, April 19th at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. The event, which serves as a fundraiser vehicle, welcomed over 500 guests from the Greater Houston Area and raised over $135,000 to fund the critical crime prevention programs and public safety initiatives delivered by the non-profit in our communities and schools.

Jacquie Baly, President and CEO of Baly Projects and FOX26 Political Analyst lent her support as the mistress of ceremonies and led the afternoon festivities which included opening remarks and a moment of silence from Crime Stoppers Executive Director Rania Mankarious, followed by keynote speaker James Conway, a national security and counter terrorism expert who spoke about terrorism globally as well as specific risks in Houston and the value of community policing.

Crime Stoppers of Houston remains Houston’s top non-profit dedicated to public safety and since 1980 has remained committed to its mission to solve and prevent serious crime in the Greater Houston Area in partnership with citizens, media and the criminal justice system.

The individuals and corporate partners honored are all incredibly dedicated and invested to their communities and were recognized as the 2017 Houston’s Heroes for continuously being on the forefront as citizenry advocates:

  • The Johnny Klevenhagen Award: Alan Rosen, Harris County Constable Precinct 1
    Constable Rosen exemplifies everything this award strives to highlight through his extensive law enforcement and business experience which he uses as a service to our community. During Constable Rosen’s speech, he dedicated the recognition to Johnny Klevenhagen III, the grandson of Mr. Johnny Klevenhagen who this award was named after.
  • The Leon Goldstein Award: Brenda Stardig, City of Houston Council Member, District A
    Council Member Stardig is tireless public servant who has worked on many public safety issues like preventing human trafficking, finding solutions to homelessness, helping people with disabilities, and promoting and sustaining safety in schools.
  • The Leiv Platou Award: Steve Mach, Chairman of the Texas Public Safety Commission
    Chairman Mach is a tireless and dedicated volunteer who focuses his efforts on community solutions. He was named Chairman of the Public Safety Commission in 2017 by Governor Abbott.
  • The Corporate Partnership Award: Merriman Holt Powell Architects
    Crime Stoppers honored Merriman Holt Powell Architects for their significant contributions, exceptional service and guidance during the architectural design of The Dave Ward Building, Crime Stoppers of Houston.
  • The Corporate Partnership Award: Mission Constructors, Inc.
    Crime Stoppers honored Mission Constructors, Inc. for their significant contributions, exceptional service and guidance as the General Contractor of The Dave Ward Building, Crime Stoppers of Houston.
  • The Safe School Award: Constance White
    Constance White has worked with many Houston non-profits and individuals who help at-risk children in the community, as well as promote child health and safety, including Crime Stoppers and our Safe School Program.

“It’s no wonder that Houston is on the forefront of so many positive things. In thinking about our honorees and the work they do both professionally and personally as well as those in the room of this annual event, I am reminded that we are a city blessed with the best of the best. Congratulations again to our honorees, as well as our two corporate partners, without whom Crime Stoppers of Houston would not be where it is today.” shares Crime Stoppers Executive Director Rania Mankarious

Wednesday’s celebration was supported by many individuals, community partners and generous sponsors, including long-time Safety Partner Aramco Services Company; Cora Sue and Harry Mach, Steve and Joella Mach, Michelle and Mike Heinz, Gary Becker and Tama Lundquist, Tena and Tyson Faust, Devinder Bhatia MD and Gina Bhatia, Franco Valobra, Harris County Sheriff’s Office Foundation, Clear Channel Outdoor, Paula Goldstein, KROGER, Rusty Hardin & Associates, Mission Constructors, Inc., Spindletop Charities, Inc., Bank of Texas, CenterPoint Energy, Downtown Exchange Club, H-E-B, Houston Apartment Association, Integrity Bank, Randalls Food Markets, Reliant, an NRG Company, Towery & Associates, Union Pacific Railroad, and Wells Fargo Bank.

Among supporters were, Jan Duncan, Bobby Horton, Jeff Aronoff, Robert S. Parsley, Stephanie and Ernie Cockrell, Hazem Ahmed and Esmat Khalaf, Tracy and Laurie Krohn, Lindsay and Scott Aronstein, Laura and Dave Ward, Ellen and Paige M. Cokinos, Courtney Zubowski Haas and Eric Haas, Lee Vela, Mike and Carole Wilson, Ricardo and Joan Nazario, Elva and Truett Akin, Chita and Lane Craft, and Gail Stalarow.

Notable guests include Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee, Congressman Ted Poe, City of Houston Mayor Sylvester Turner, Commissioner Jack Cagle, Harris County Clerk Chris Daniel, Harris County Sheriff Ed Gonzalez, Harris County District Attorney Kim Ogg, Harris County Precinct 5 Constable Ted Heap, Harris County Clerk Stan Stanart, Fort Bend County Precinct 3 Constable Wayne Thompson, and Council Members Jack Christie, Karla Cisneros, Jerry Davis, Amanda Edwards, Robert Gallegos, Mike Laster and Mike Knox; Texas Department of Public Safety Colonel Steven McGraw Director and Commander Duane Steen Region 2; and Houston Police Department Chief Art Acevedo.

If you would like to learn about Crime Stoppers of Houston, how to get involved or donate to their mission programs, visit or call 713-521-4600.

Photos by Roswitha Vogler

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit Our Sponsors

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This

Share This

Share this story with your friends!